If They Could Speak

If They Could Speak
Young woman, 20 years old

If my mouth could speak,
it would tell you everything that I’ve done in my life.
It would tell you that I have kissed,
I have eaten what I like and I taste it.
It has said malicious things, negative things, it has smoked.
It would like to be able to say something when someone scolds me,
it would like to be able to vent everything so I could feel better.
Sometimes the mouth can’t speak
out of respect for other people.

If my hands could speak,
they would tell you I’ve touched animals,
I’ve grabbed dirty things, I’ve stroked people, I have hit.
I have played with my hands, I have pointed things out to people.
I have planted trees that give fruit,
I like to see them when they’re grown,
and are green and healthy.

If my feet could speak,
they would tell you how much I’ve walked.
I have worn down out the streets of San Salvador.
My toes have been hurt when I trip,
but because they can’t talk
only I feel the pain
and they stay silent.

If my heart could speak,
it would tell you all of the pain it has inside.
That it has suffered when it falls in love and is betrayed.
My heart beats every second,
wanting to speak about love,
that it does hurt,
that love is only an imagination,
it’s only magic.

If my hair could speak,
it would tell you that I have bathed it in chemicals.
When I put chemicals on it,
it suffers because it wants to be natural,
just like fruit that comes from nature.

If my legs could speak,
they would tell you many stories.
One of them is that they were abused by my boyfriend
that hit me out of jealousy.
On my legs, he left bruises,
and when they itched, I scratched them.
I thought that scratching them
might hurt my legs on the inside.
But because they can’t talk,
they didn’t say anything to me.

Leave a Reply

