The Ocean and The Sky

Published By: Olivia

When this young woman was reading me this poem, she began to laugh so hard that she couldn’t stop.   She told me that she gave it to a guard who she liked, who had inspired her to write.  When I asked her why, she told me that he reminds her of a guy who she dated on the outside.  These incarcerated girls want to live their adolescence, (they want to fall in love and experiment and go out with their friends) and they are aware that on the inside it´s impossible.  In this poem, she says that the distance between she and he is the same as the distance between the ocean and the sky.

 

The Ocean and The Sky

Young Woman, 19 years old

One fresh morning like any other

Something beautiful happened to me when I looked around

I bumped into a beautiful gaze, sweet and tender

One of those gazes that with just one someone can rob your heart

A brilliant and incomparable gaze

It was one of those unique gazes

Having it close hipnotizes you and makes you forget everyone and everything

A glance that is hard to come by but when you find it

You try to save it

Like something important and valuable for you

And seeking it and not finding it

Makes you desperate and casts a spell on you

Because it is one of those glances where time doesn’t exist

Only the moment in which you can contemplate it

 

That gaze reflects your little eyes

In that angelical face

You look so handsome, so sweet and sincere

Like few

I would love to lose myself in your gaze

drown in a kiss from your delicious red lips

cover myself with your arms and find refuge in your chest

but I know that that will never happen

it’s just as impossible as water combining with fire,

the ocean with the sky,

it’s like touching the stars with the tips of my fingers

 

you are so sacred for me

that I don’t even have to touch you

and not because I don’t want to

but because I shouldn’t

 

And so for me you will always be

An unreachable love

A long-distance love

An unrequited love

A platonic love

 

I will be the ocean and you the sky

Leave a Reply

